In 1993 18 teams from 11 different associations participated in the league divided into three groups. The best team was Bonner Hupfdohlen.


In 1994 the no. of the participants reached 23 teams from 14 associations. Winner was AufRuhr I from Bochum.


In 1995 there were 22 teams from 13 associations. Team Vorspiel Berlin won the tournaments.


The first Swiss team was in 1996 Pink Chocolate from Basel. A total of 27 teams from 18 associations divided in 5 groups. The winner was again Vorspiel Berlin. During the regular meeting of responsible persons of each team in Nov. 1996 the decision was made to rename the league to „gay and lesbian volleyball league“ as it had not been thought to be a gay-only league. The team Aufschlag Wien was the first Austrian team to participate in this year’s league.


This year the most powerful team was AufRuhr I which had been second best in the previous season. Each year the team captains as responsible person for their teams met to have a business dinner. In Nov. 1997 it was decided to found an official association (e.V.).


34 teams started in 1998. They fought against degradation and for promotion in the levels A, B and three C levels. For the first time the best team was FVV I from Frankfurt in level A.


In 1999 34 teams participated. The winner in the A level again was FVV I from Frankfurt.


In the year of the millennium 36 teams were part of the gay and lesbian volleyball league. Best team in level A was Neckarnixen from Stuttgart.


37 teams participated in 2001. Once again FVV I from Frankfurt won in level A.


In 2002 35 teams took part; for the first time a Czech team from Praha entered the league. Champions became Neckarpritschen from Stuttgart.


36 teams participated in 2003. FVV I – Loreley from Frankfurt won in level A.


One year later the league grew to 40 teams. Between A and B a new level „B+“ was established. Again FVV I – Loreley from Frankfurt won.


Once again the league got bigger to include 47 teams in 2005. As an innovation a sole women league was created. Champions became Salt&Lemon Düsseldorf for the women class and Neckarpritschen from Stuttgart for the men.


In 2006 44 teams took part. Queerpass Dresden and SC Janus Köln won this year’s competition.


The league grew again. It included 50 teams in 2007. Among them were 5 women teams. As a new member a team from Regensburg participated. Winner for the women was again Queerpass Dresden and München I for the men.


In 2008 46 male teams started. Sadly, there were not enough teams for a women class. Teams from Zurich and Trier took part for the first time. The B+-level was separated into 2 classes. Winner was SC Janus Köln.


49 men teams with a new team from Oldenburg started in 2009. Again there were not enough women teams. Champion became team München I.


The league had 51 teams in 2010. The C-level was divided into 4 groups. Winner this xear was SC Janus Köln


48 male teams started in 2011. Winner of this year’s league became again SC Janus Köln.


In 2012 48 men teams started. For the first time a team from France participated. Also in the women field there was a movement. 3 teams were part of this year’s league. Champions became Nimm Du-Hamburg for the women and Gay Sport Zürich for the men.


A total of 52 teams divided in 4 women teams and 48 men teams took part in 2013. In this year the teams came from Germany, Switzerland, Austria, France, and from the Czech Republic. Winner was SC Janus Köln.


In 2014 four women teams and 56 men teams together built the league; once again also from foreign countries (Switzerland, Austria, France and Czech Republic). In the women group the team Stets Bemüht from Bremen won in only two days. In the men group the champion was Bella Block International from Hamburg.


For the first time 5 women’s teams and 61 men’s teams start into the season, thus for the first time more than 60 teams, again from six countries. The women’s team Stets Bemüht from Bremen wins again and the men’s team Bella Block International is the champion.


5 women’s teams and 62 men’s teams start the season, again one more than last year.  In the women’s competition, Bremen relinquishes the title to the Babajagas from Berlin. In the men’s competition, however, Bella Block International from Hamburg wins the league title for the third time in a row.


With 6 women’s teams competing for the first time, a complete league is formed. The Babajagas are able to defend their title as league champions from the previous year. Among the 62 men’s teams, Volup Warsaw is the first team from Poland. Team Aufschlag Wien I from Austria replaces Bella Block as league champions.


Unfortunately, there were fewer teams this year: 5 women’s teams and 57 men’s teams competed. The Babajagas from Berlin could win the title of league champion for the third time in a row, and in the men’s competition Volup Warsaw won the title for the first time in Poland.


With 5 women’s teams and only 52 men’s teams, the decline in numbers continues, and Volup Warsaw is the only Polish team to withdraw. The title of league champion is once again won by the perennial winners Babajagas from Berlin, and in the men’s competition Bella Block International is once again crowned league champion.


Due to the outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic, it was not possible to play – the season was completely cancelled in advance.


This season was also overshadowed by the COVID-19 rules, this time it was left up to the teams themselves to decide whether they wanted to play. In the women’s competition, 4 teams took part, and in the men’s competition, 29 teams took part. Some groups, including A, decided to sit out this year as well, some groups played only one first round, generally a maximum group size of only 5 teams was allowed. In the women’s competition, the Babajagas from Berlin were again the league champions. In the men’s competition, due to the lack of play in Groups A and B+ West, the winner of Group B+ East, the Berlin Birds(n) were crowned champions of the league for this year.


Even though the COVID-19 pandemic is not yet over, the rules allow for fixtures to be played under hygiene rules. We hope it stays that way and wish you good luck and success. And stay healthy!